Early voting starts Monday for city, school elections

Early voting for the May 7 city and school elections begins Monday, April 25 in Burnet and Llano counties. Several different local leadership positions are up for grabs on the ballot.

Voters will decide which of three candidates will get the Place 1 spot on the Marble Falls Independent School District (MFISD) Board of Trustees. 

Gary Boshears, captain with the Granite Shoals Police Department, Jim Coursey, pastor of Mosaic Community Church in Marble Falls, and Lenwood Nelson, a retiree from sales and management in the clothing manufacturing business, are all seeking the spot that will be vacated by Mike Savage, the current Place 1 trustee, decided to not run for re-election after three terms on the board.

The other seat up for election on the staggered board, Place 2, is uncontested and will continue to be held by Karl Westerman, a computer software consultant who has served on the board since 2001.

“We are very excited that our citizens will get the chance to select one of our seven trustees in the upcoming election,” said MFISD Superintendent Dr. Chris Allen.

The last day of early voting is May 3 and early voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Marble Falls Courthouse Annex, 810 Steve Hawkins, in Marble Falls, and at the Burnet County Courthouse, 220 S. Pierce, in Burnet. Early voting will be extended on April 28 and May 2 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. to accommodate voters.

In Granite Shoals, voters will be considering options for changes in sales tax use, and two city council positions. Mayor Pro Tem Shirley King is unopposed on the ballot for Place 2. Incumbent Tom Dillard faces newcomer Arturo Rubio for Place 4. The three-way race for Place 6 will be between incumbent Mark Morren, newcomer Will Skinner and Michael Steembergen, who unsuccessfully sought a place on the council in the last election.

In Cottonwood Shores, voters will decide two contested seats. For Place 3, Mary Ann Plumley is challenging Councilwoman Cheryl (Cheri) Mott Trinidad. Councilman Tony Satsky’s seat at Place 1 is being challenged by Bill Plumley and Matthew Orlando. A third seat, Place 5, held by Roger Wayson, is uncontested.

The cities of Marble Falls and Highland Haven are not holding municipal elections due to a lack of opposed candidates.

The City of Llano has a six candidates running for three alderman spots. The Llano Independent School District is conducting a trustee election for Place 2, Place 6 and Place 7. Voters may cast their ballots at any of the three Llano County early voting locations.  Days and times are as follows:

Llano Library, 102 E. Haynie, Llano – Mon – Fri – 8:00am – 4:30pm with the following exceptions:  Mon, April 25th and Mon, May 2nd polls are open 7am-7pm.

Kingsland Library, 124 W. Polk, Kingsland – Mon – Fri – 9:00am-4:00pm

Horseshoe Bay POA, 107 Twilight, Horseshoe Bay – Mon – Fri 9:00am-3:30pm

Monday, April 25 is also the last day to register to vote for the May 24 primary runoff in Texas.

To help prepare Texans for the primary runoff, here are a few key points from the Texas Secretary of State’s office:

· Texans can print an online form from VoteTexas.gov to sign and mail. They can also request a postage paid registration form by calling 1-800-252-VOTE.

· Voters do not have to be registered with a party to vote in the primary runoff.

· Voters cannot cross parties between the primary and primary runoff elections – for example, if a Texan voted Republican in the primary, they must vote Republican in the primary runoff.

· However, voters are not obligated to any party for the November General Election.

· Early voting for the primary runoff is May 16 – May 20, and Election Day is May 24.

· For more information, Texans can visit VoteTexas.gov or call 1-800-252-VOTE.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet