Early voting begins Monday, May 16, in Llano and Burnet County

Friday, May 13, is the deadline to request a ballot by mail. Early voting in the Joint Primary Runoff Elections begins Monday, May 16.

Early voting in joint primary election runoffs on May 24 starts Monday, May 16. And today, Friday, May 13, is the last day to apply for a ballot by mail.

In Burnet County, where only Republicans filed for local offices, the runoff will decide winners of local offices and only those who voted in the March 1 Republican Primary or those who did not vote March 1 may cast their ballots in the local elections for Precinct 1 commissioner, Precinct 3 commissioner, Precinct 1 justice of the peace and Precinct 4 justice of the peace. Democratic voters locally will choose only between Grady Yarborough and Cody Garrett for a Texas Commissioner of Agriculture candidate.

In Llano County, James Shilling withdrew from the race for sheriff with Bill Blackburn. Consequently, Shilling's name appears on the ballot but Blackburn will continue as the county's chief law enforcement officer. The only remaining local race is between Mike Sandoval and Ron Wilson for Llano County Precinct 3 commissioner.

In state contests, Republicans will choose between two candidates in four races. The District 24 senatorial candidate will be chosen between Dawn Buckingham and Susan King. Choices in the other three races are between Gary Gates and Wayne Christian for Railroad Commissioner; between Ray Wheless and Mary Lou Keel for Place 2 judge on the Court of Criminal Appeals, between Scott Walker and Brent Webster for Place t judge on that court.

In the March 1 Burnet County Republican Primary, Calvin Boyd won over J.P Wilson for sheriff of Burnet County, Leslie Ray won the Precinct 1 constable position over opponent Chris Bieze and Jimmy Ballard won Precinct 3 constable over James Bryant.

Remaining are runoffs for commissioner in Burnet County Precincts 1 and 3 and justice of the peace in Precincts 1 and 4.

The Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 contest will be between Roxanne Nelson, who currently presides over JP Precinct 1 and contender Michael Horton. Both were close in votes after the March 1 primary, with Nelson receiving 1,094 votes and Horton hot on her heels with 1,077 votes.

Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 runoff candidates will be Coach Larry Berkman and Debbie Bindseil. During the primary Berkman led the pack with a total of 831 votes while Bindseil came in second with 769 votes.

“Thanks for your vote in the March 1 election, Only the top 10 percent most committed voters vote in the runoff, so your vote carries 10 times more weight this time, so please get out and vote,” said Berkman.

Precinct 1 commissioner runoff candidates are Jim Luther Jr. and Sam Cox. Luther, who accumulated the most votes during the March 1 primary, with 1,086 votes, was not able to get more than 50 percent of the votes over his opponent Cox, who came in a close second with 1,020 votes.

“I feel good going into the runoff. Although I received the most votes in the primary, I am not taking anything for granted,” said Luther.

“For over 25 years I have served the citizens of Burnet County as both a volunteer and in my profession. It would be my honor to serve as Commissioner, Precinct 1.”

Precinct 3 commissioner run off candidates include Bertram native Billy Wall and Marble Falls native Linvel Baker. Wall finished the March 1 primary with 920 votes while Baker came is second with 646 votes.

“I would like to thank each and everyone for their support and vote,” said Wall.

“I plan to continue to work hard and be a full time commissioner that will work all week, nights, and weekend to get the job done,”

“I ask that everyone get out and vote,” said Wall.

Among uncontested Republican candidates wre 33rd Judicial District Judge Allan Garrett, 33rd/424th District Attorney Wiley “Sonny” McAfee, Burnet County Attorney Eddie Arredondo, Burnet County Tax Assessor-Collector Sheri Frazier and Precinct 2 Constable Gary Adams.

In Burnet County, early voting sites are the Burnet County Courthouse, 220 South Pierce Street in Burnet, and the Marble Falls Courthouse Annex, 810 Steve Hawkins Parkway in Marble Falls.

Early voting hours for those two locations are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. For more information, call the office of Burnet County Elections Administrator Doug Ferguson, 512-715-5288, electadmin@burnetcountytexas.org or at www.burnetcountytexas.org.

Unlike Llano County voting on May 24, Joint Primary Runoff early voting, May 16 – 20, will be held for both Republican and Democratic parties at all three Llano County Early Voting locations:  Llano County Library, 102 East Haynie Street, Llano, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.; Kingsland Public Library, 125 West Polk Street, Kingsland, 9 a.m.-4 p.m., and Horseshoe Bay Property 

On Election Day, May 24, all Democrat voters from all nine voting precincts--101, 102, 108, 109, 203, 204, 205, 307 and 410--will vote at the Llano County Library from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
Republican Party polls will be open 7 a.m.-7  p.m. in four consolidated polling locations:
Voting Precincts 101, 410: Llano County Library; Voting Precincts 108, 203 and 307: Kingsland Public Library; Voting Precincts 102 and 109: Horseshoe Bay City Hall, No. 1 Community Drive, Horseshoe Bay, and Voting Precincts 204, 205: Lakeshore Branch Library 7346 Texas 261, Buchanan Dam.
For additional information, contact the office of Llano County Elections Administrator Cindy Ware, 325-247-5425, elections@co.llano.tx.us or www.co.llano.tx.us.



Rate this article: 
No votes yet