Hill Country 100 Club honors area first responders for 15th year

By Lew K. Cohn

and Frank Shubert

The Highlander

First responders from Burnet, Llano, Blanco and Lampasas counties were honored Thursday, Jan. 18, at the 15th annual Hill Country 100 Club awards banquet and meeting at the Galloway-Hammmond YMCA of the Highland Lakes in Burnet.

Club members presented awards plaques to police officers, firefighters and EMTs from 65 agencies in the four-county area. Hall of Fame quarterback Roger Staubach served as keynote speaker for the event, which was attended by more than 700 people.

Kim Vickers, executive director of the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE), spoke to the group about the dynamic changes in law enforcement during the past 30-plus years and of how law enforcement should embrace not only their role as warriors but as guardians of the constitutional rights of all Texans.

One of the founding members and driving force of the Hill Country 100 Club, Dewey Hollingsworth, received a special award for his years of dedicated service.

“This club and all of the people in this room are very special to me,” said Hollingsworth, clearly moved by the recognition. “I have insisted from the very beginning, and we were one of the first 100 clubs in the nation to do this, that our club include covering EMS departments, as well as law enforcement and fire departments.”

Also honored Thursday night were outgoing Chairman Jay Ward, who presented the year in review for the club, as well as incoming Chairman Frank Blagg, who introduced his officers and directors.

Event sponsor for the 2018 banquet was Hoffpauir Auto and Outdoor Stores. Hoffpauir representative, Kirk Whitehead, received an autographed football personally delivered with a perfect 30 yard pass from Staubach.

Sponsors for the event included Horseshoe Bay Resort-Ron Mitchell, Siddons-Martin Emergency Group, Whataburger-Burnet/Marble Falls, Diana S. Ellis, Jim Brewer Double J-H Properties, Rotary Club of Burnet, Tejas Caballeros Cowboy Action Shooting Club, Busse Group Real Estate, Baylor Scott & White, Cary Mormino & Associates CMA Insurance Agency, Delta Industrial Service & Supply, Llano National Bank, The Vineyard B&B at Lost Creek Ranch, Bob & Linda Speetzen, Main Street Barber Shop, City of Marble Falls, Cutting Edge Floral Art Design, Endeavor Real Estate Group, Hollingsworth and Hollingsworth, Inc., Janet Huber, JB Goble Rentals, Kathy Hussey, Linda Bayless, Marble Falls Area VFD, R. Wayne and Dottie Anderson, Sunrise Beach VFD, Burnet Awards and Trophy House, Tim and Cathy Ols, and Will and Marilyn Howard Golf Mercado

Hill Country 100 Club Directors include Jay Ward, Frank Blagg, Dewey Hollingsworth, Tom Beck, Glen Bible, Joe Pollock, Danny Reid, Ed Brooks, Rocky White, Robert Dahlstrom, Craig Haydon, Jeff Robinson, Joe Holtslag, Bill Hussey, Brenda Goble, Bill Lane, Dave McGaugh, Vicki Morris, Chris Nolen, Tammie Sander, Tony Pippenger and Frank Shubert.

For more information about the 100 Club, how to join or make a contribution visit their web site at hc100club.com or their Facebook page at facebook.com/hc100club/.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet