March 6 Primary Elections underway

Party Primary Election Day is today, March 6, and Republican and Democrat voters have until 7 p.m. to cast their ballots for local and statewide candidates.

County offices in Burnet and Llano counties, where no Democratic contests are on the ballots, will be decided today.

Burnet County

Three candidates are seeking the GOP nomination for Precinct 2 commissioner after incumbent Russell Graeter chose not to run again. The field includes, in ballot order, Ryan Rowney, Tom Stephens and Damon Beierle. The winner does not have a Democratic opponent in the fall and will be the newly elected commissioner in January.

There are also three candidates seeking the GOP nod for Precinct 3 JP after incumbent Peggy Shell Simon did not seek re-election. They include Jane Marie Hurst, Carey Headrick and Jeff Sellers. The winner does not have a Democratic opponent in the fall and would be the newly elected JP in January.

Republican candidates who are unopposed include 424th Judicial District Judge Evan Clay Stubbs, County Judge James Oakley, Precinct 4 Commissioner Joe Don Dockery, County Court at Law Linda Bayless, District Clerk Casie Walker, County Clerk Janet Parker, County Treasurer Karrie Crownover, County Chairman Donna Holland Wilcox, Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace Roxanne Nelson, Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Lisa Whitehead, Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace Debbie Bindseil and Precinct 4 Constable Missy Bindseil.

County Democratic Party Chairman Ronald LeVick Sr. is also running unopposed in his primary race.

For more information about the Burnet County sample ballots, go to

Voting locations on Tuesday, March 6, are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and as follows:

Precinct 1 — First Lutheran Church, 133 Apollo Drive, Burnet.

Precinct 2 — Burnet Main Courthouse, 220 S. Pierce, Burnet.

Precinct 3 — Grace United Methodist Church, 4007 Valley View, Granite Shoals.

Precinct 4 — Spicewood Community Center, 7901 CR 404, Spicewood.

Precinct 5 — Silver Creek Fire Hall & Community Center, 101 CR 128, Burnet.

Precinct 6 — Smithwick Community Center, 10800 E. FM 1431, Marble Falls.

Precinct 7 — Cassie Subdivision Community Center, 3920 FM 690, Burnet.

Precinct 8 — Hoover Valley Volunteer Fire Dept., 303 Sherwood Dr., Burnet.

Precinct 9 — Highland Haven Community Center, 118 Blackbird Dr., Highland Haven.

Precinct 10 — Iglesia Bautista Emanuel Church Hall, (CR 330 and FM 243) 4000 W. FM 243, Bertram.

Precinct 11 — Naruna Church Bldg., 9170 FM 1478 (Naruna), Burnet.

Precinct 12 — Bertram Library, 170 N. Gabriel St., Bertram.

Precinct 13 — Joppa Fellowship Hall, 8447 CR 210, Bertram (Joppa).

Precinct 14 — Lake Victor Community Center, 200 Lake Ave., Burnet (Lake Victor).

Precinct 15 — Briggs Community Center, 215 Loop 308, Briggs.

Precinct 16 — Oakalla Community Center & Public Library, 29011 FM 963, Oakalla.

Precinct 17 — Burnet Courthouse North Annex, 1701 E. Polk, Burnet.

Precinct 18 — Granite Shoals Fire Station, 8410 FM 1431 W., Granite Shoals.

Precinct 19 — Marble Falls Courthouse South Annex, 810 Steve Hawkins Pkwy., Marble Falls.

Precinct 20 — Church of Christ, 711 Broadway, Marble Falls.

Llano County

County Judge Mary Cunningham's bid for a second term in office faces an election challenge in the GOP primary from Ronald “Ron” Cunningham, who is no relation. The winner will be the next county judge as there is not a Democratic opponent.

Precinct 2 Commissioner Linda Raschke has a primary re-election challenge on the GOP side from Ricky Johnson. The winner is unopposed in the November primary. County Clerk Marci Hadeler has an opponent in the GOP primary in Clay Etter. The winner is elected with no Democratic opposition.

Preinct 1 Justice of the Peace Bebe Piatt faces a GOP challenge from former JP Richard Owen. The winner will be sworn in come January as there is not a Democratic opponent. Precinct 2 JP is up for grabs with three GOP candidates on the ballot, but Steven “Steve” Lange has announced his withdrawal from the race, leaving just Bucky Boswell and Maureen Riggs.

Unopposed GOP candidates include Stubbs, District Clerk Joyce Gillow, County Treasurer Teresa Kassell, County Surveyor John Arthur Ables, County Chairman Doug Sanders, Precinct 4 Commissioner Jerry Don Moss, Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace Era Marion and Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace Brian Alexander.

Democratic County Chairman Dana Wright Rushing is also running unopposed in her primary race.

For more information and to see the Llano County sample ballot, go to

Voting locations on Tuesday, March 6, are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and as follows:

101 — Llano Ag & Health Bldg., 1447 E. St. Hwy 71.

102 — Blue Lake Community Center, 214 W. Bluebonnet Drive.

108 — Sunrise Beach City Hall Civic Center, 124 Sunrise Drive.

109 — Horseshoe Bay City Office, #1 Community Drive.

203 — Buchanan Dam East Llano County Annex, 7346 RR 261.

204 — Tow First Baptist Church, 16521 RR 2241.

307 — Kingsland Public Library, 125 W Polk.

410 — Llano County Library, 102 E Haynie.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet