New Llano County judge elected as Cunningham unseats Cunningham

New Llano County judge elected as Cunningham unseats Cunningham


Challenger Ronald “Ron” Cunningham has apparently unseated Llano County Judge Mary Cunningham in the Llano County Republican Primary, according to final but unofficial results.

The two Cunninghams are not related, despite having the same last name.

Ron Cunningham received 2,140 votes, or 54.05 percent to 1,819, or 45.95 percent, for Mary Cunningham. Because there is not a Democratic opponent, Ron Cunningham will be sworn in as the new county judge in January.

Meanwhile, incumbent Llano County Clerk Marci Hadeler and incumbent Precinct 2 Commissioner Linda Raschke each survived primary challenges. Hadeler received 2,049 votes, or 56.03 percent, to 1,608, or 43.97 percent, for her challenger, Clay Etter.

Raschke received 618 votes, or 62.36 percent, while challenger Ricky Johnson received 373, or 37.64 percent.

With no Democratic opponent, Hadeler and Raschke will be sworn in again come January.
In the Precinct 1 JP race, incumbent Bebe Piatt appears to have survived a challenge by her predecessor, Richard Owen, by just 69 votes. Piatt received 674 votes or 52.70 percent to 605 or 47.30 percent for Owen, in what was a gritty, hard-fought election contest.

Meanwhile, in Precinct 2 JP race, Maureen Riggs was leading the race with 455 votes, or 47.25 percent, but this is a plurality and not a majority. Bucky Boswell had 294 votes, or 30.53 percent, and Steve Lange had 214 votes, or 22.22 percent. Lange supposedly dropped out of the race, but only after the ballot had already been printed. It was not immediately clear Tuesday night what that would mean in terms of whether Riggs would be elected or there would need to be a runoff.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)