Candidates begin to file for municipal, ISD positions



From staff reports

Two individuals have filed for election so far to the Marble Falls City Council, according to City Secretary Christina McDonald.

The filing period for the Saturday, May 4, city and school board elections began Wednesday, Jan. 16, and continues through Feb. 15.

Early voting in Burnet County will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 22-30 at the Burnet County Courthouse, 220 S. Pierce, Burnet, and the Marble Falls Courthouse Annex, 810 Steve Hawkins Pkwy., Marble Falls. Polls will be open extended hours (7 a.m. to 7 p.m.) on April 26 and April 30.

Marble Falls city

Incumbent Place 2 City Councilman Dave Rhodes has filed for re-election, while former City Councilman Reed Norman has filed to run for the unexpired term for Place 6, which was vacated when Meagan Klaeger Ruff resigned because she moved out of city limits.

Other positions available on the ballot include Mayor, currently held by John Packer, who is finishing out his second term; and Place 4, currently held by Celia Merrill, who was finishing out an unexpired term (her first).

Candidates can file at City Hall, 800 Third St., Marble Falls, during regular business hours.

Marble Falls ISD

Two positions are available on the MFISD ballot: Place 1 trustee, currently held by Gary Boshears, and Place 2 Trustee, currently held by Rick Edwards. Application filings will be accepted at the MFISD Administration building at 1800 Colt Circle during regular business hours.

Granite Shoals

Four places are on the ballot for Granite Shoals City Council — Mayor, currently held by Carl Brugger; Place 1 Council, currently held by Anita Hisey; Place 3 Council, currently held by Mayor Pro Tem Jim Davant; and Place 5 Council, currently held by Todd Holland. Hisey is not eligible to run for re-election due to term limits.

Candidates may file for a place on the ballot at City Hall, 2221 N. Phillips Rnach Road, Granite Shoals.

Cottonwood Shores

Three spots are up on the ballot for Cottonwood Shores City Council, including Mayor, held by incumbent Donald Orr; Place 2, held by incumbent Brigitte Thomas; and Place 4, held by Michael Hibdon.

Candidates may file for a place on the ballot at City Hall, 3808 Cottonwood Drive, Cottonwood Shores, during regular business hours.

Highland Haven

Three spots are available on the Board of Aldermen for Highland Haven. They are currently held by Lonnie Ball, Alvin Kahanek and Bill Passmore.

Candidates may file for a spot on the ballot by contacting City Secretary Jeannie Gruetzner at City Hall, 510-A Highland Drive, Highland Haven.

Horseshoe Bay holds its municipal elections in November.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet