candidate forum


Highlander to host Granite Shoals candidate forum, city prepares for clean up Saturday

Glynis Crawford Smith/The Highlander

Granite Shoals drivers saw their first evidence of the $3 million road bond project this weekend when work took place on ranch property owned by James Peril on the east side of Phillips Ranch Road. Tonight, Tuesday, April 10, the city council will discuss a “Roadway Exchange Agreement and Temporary Construction Easement.” The goal of the eventual land swap is softening two curves on the thoroughfare where at least one fatality has taken place.

By Glynis Crawford Smith

The Highlander


The Highlander Candidate Forum, set for 10 a.m. Saturday, April 21, will be one item of interest on the Granite Shoals City Council agenda tonight, Tuesday, April 10.

Candidates in the May 5 city council election have been invited to the 10 a.m. forum at Marble Falls Fire Rescue, 8410 West Ranch to Market Road 1431.

Those candidates are Bruce A. Jones and incumbent Shirley King for Place 2, and Terry Scott and Ryan Wolters for Place 4. Will Skinner is uncontested for Place 6.

In the mean time, the council will be urging citizens to be ready Saturday, April 14, for the annual City Wide Clean Up.

The gates will open at the city hall entrance, 2221 North Phillips Ranch Road at 8 a.m. and refuse will be accepted until noon for disposal in Republic Service dumpsters on the municipal complex. A shredder service for important documents will go on only until 11 a.m.


GOP candidate forum in Burnet Thursday, Feb. 1

Republican candidates in two contested Burnet County March 6 primary races will appear at a 6:30 p.m. political forum Thursday, Feb. 1, at the Burnet Community Center, 401 E. Jackson.

The event is sponsored by the Burnet Chamber of Commerce, the Burnet Bulletin and the Burnet County Republican Club, whose member will be serving cookies to guests, beginning at 6 p.m.

There are three candidates in the race for Precinct 2 Commissioner, currently held by Russell Graeter, who did not seek re-election. Candidates include, in alphabetical order by last name, Damon Beierle, Ryan Rowney and Tom Stephens.

Also contested is the race for Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace, currently held by Peggy Shell Simon, who also did not seek re-election. Candidates in this race include Carey Hendrick, Jane Marie Hurst and Jeff Sellers.

Subscribe to RSS - candidate forum