Meganj Klaeger


Klaeger and Rhodes inducted to Marble Falls Council, Haddock also to join

Lew K. Cohn/The Highlander

Marble Falls City Secretary Christina McDonald, left, swears in new city council members Megan Klaeger and Dave Rhodes during the council meeting Tuesday, May 16.

By Lew K. Cohn

Managing Editor

The Highlander

Marble Falls City Council members voted 4-2 to appoint William “Dee” Haddock to the Place 4 seat left vacant after the May 6 general election.

Haddock, who has served on the city's Planning & Zoning Commission since 2011, was one of three people who threw their hats into the ring for the position recently held by Rachel Austin-Cook, who did not seek re-election to her Place 4 seat.

Michele Boshears and Jim Coursey also submitted their applications for consideration prior to the May 8 deadline set by the council. No candidates had filed to run for Place 4 in the May 2017 general election, which had been canceled due to lack of opposed candidates. According to Section 3.06 of the City Charter, the City Council must appoint a qualified candidate when there is a vacancy.

Subscribe to RSS - Meganj Klaeger